I know I don’t normally do posts like this, but this is a big deal. One year ago (yesterday), I woke up a vegetarian, and I went to bed an actual herbivore. After tinkering with the idea for multiple years, I attended a Meetup for NYC vegetarians and vegans, and after having brunch with some fellow vegans, I suddenly felt the ambition to make it official.

My year hasn’t been perfect, for sure. I have accidentally eaten naan with milk and eggs in it. I have accidentally eaten crackers with whey powder on them. I ordered a vegan cookie at a coffee shop once, and I think they accidentally gave me a non-vegan one. I’m pretty sure I ate sorbet that contained egg whites, which I didn’t realize was a common practice until months later. But ultimately, I had a solid year during which I never–not once–regretted my choice to be plant-based.


Excuse the bad hair… It was raining!

I celebrated this joyous day by going to one of my favorite vegan restaurants–Red Bamboo–with some of my favorite people.


Oh look, it’s the famous Allison!

Now, many people think being vegan is hard. Obviously, it comes with struggles that the average omnivore doesn’t have to deal with, but I rarely find it remarkably difficult. I could count the number of times when it has given me frustration on ONE hand.

Here are five reasons why being vegan is not actually that hard, as told by oatmeal:

1. Because you can make frosting out of things like avocado.

2. Because they make vegan alternatives for many baking ingredients, like white chocolate chips.

3. Because you learn how to make your favorite desserts in healthier form.

4. Because the batter is the best part anyway.

5. Because peanut butter is oh-so-vegan.

About Lauren Smith

Lauren is a herbivore, Slytherin, and connoisseur of oats. She is a former teacher who is currently studying to earn a master's degree in curriculum development. You can follow her on Instagram, Twitter, Pinterest, and Facebook.

3 Responses to My One-Year VEGANNIVERSARY!

  1. Wendy says:

    Happy Veganniversary! And OMG, I had no idea about sorbet. As soon as I read this I went to the website of my local gelateria, which says: “Sorbet is made from up to 50% fresh fruit. The only other ingredients are water, sugar and natural stabilizers like carob seed flour; sorbets are dairy-free and their fat content is zero”. So I guess it sounds like I’m OK. Phew! Giving up gelato would have been a real blow. They just closed for the season this past weekend, so I’ll have to wait until March to ask in person. Thanks for the heads up!

  2. Well done and Happy Veganniversary!

  3. Happy Veganversary! Don’t fret about the accidental food. Soon you will develop x-ray vision and know what contains what 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *